Commercial waste

Sefton Council already provides a number of both large and small Businesses including Hotels, Shops, Public Houses, Restaurants, Schools and Colleges with a quality trade waste collection and value for money recycling service.

Commercial waste collection services are available from Sefton Council to help businesses meet their responsibilities to dispose of waste, as required by legislation.

For a free, no obligation, waste collection quote for your business, please call 0151 288 6142 or email commercial.waste@sefton.gov.uk

Commercial/Trade Waste Collections during the Christmas 2018 and New Year Bank Holiday week 2019

Our commercial wheeled bin service operates for the full 52 weeks of the year. Collection services that normally fall on a day that our collection vehicles are not running - we will endeavour to collect on the next two available working days, assuming access is available.

DateCollection Details
Friday 21st Dec Collections as scheduled
Sat 22nd Dec Collections as scheduled
Sun 23rd Dec Collections as scheduled
Mon 24th Dec Collections as scheduled
Tues 25th Dec Closed all day (Todays collections take place on Thursday, 27th December 2018)
Wed 26th Dec Closed all day (Todays collections take place on Friday 28th December)
Thurs 27th Dec Revised collection day - Saturday, 29th December
Fri 28th Dec Revised collection day - Monday, 31st December
Sat 29th Dec Collections as scheduled
Sun 30th Dec Collections as scheduled
Mon 31st Dec Collections as scheduled
Tues 1st Jan Closed all day (Todays collections take place on Wednesday 2nd January 2019)
Wed 2nd Jan Revised collection day - Thursday, 3rd January
Thurs 3rd Jan Revised collection day – Friday, 4th January
Fri 4th Jan Revised collection day – Saturday, 5th January
Sat 5th Jan Collections as scheduled
Sun 6th Jan Collections as scheduled
Mon 7th Jan Scheduled collections resume

Commercial Recycling:

Sefton’s Commercial recycling collection service is available at a competitive rate to all trade customers that have a current contract with Sefton Council for the removal of their general waste.

Mixed Dry/Comingled Recycling: we can collect cardboard, plastic bottles, tin cans, glass bottles and paper, including flyers, magazines and catalogues from your business all from the same wheeled bin. 

For all enquiries please email commercial.waste@sefton.gov.uk.

Additional Services

Additional services available to our commercial customers are available upon request and all at competitive prices:

  • Skip hire (from 8 yard skips to the large roll on roll off open type skips)
  • Extra wheeled bin collections
  • Removal of commercial furniture/white goods
  • Graffiti Removal
  • Event cleansing services (for both large and small events) 
  • Garden waste collections 

All our commercial services are subject to an on-site visit and satisfactory assessment by Sefton’s Commercial Waste Services Officer. 

To comply with legislation, business premises must make arrangements to ensure that waste material produced as part of their daily operations is managed and disposed of correctly (Section 34 of the Environmental Protection Act 1990). 

All businesses must ensure that the person removing the waste is either a Local Authority or a licensed waste collection company and they will be authorised to remove waste, transport and dispose of it safely.

Small businesses can find out more about their duty of care responsibilities online. 

Domestic Services

For all domestic/residential services, including domestic wheeled bin collections/street sweeping & lighting/highways please call Sefton’s Contact Centre: 0345 140 0845 or visit our Contact Us page on our website.


Last Updated on 14 December 2018